Evils of Religion: December 13 2011

I thought I’d start linking to an evil of religion everyday.

(I know it’s the Daily Fail, but I’ve cross checked this and they have the best article…meh) 85 sexual predators arrested on evidence provided by 117 children

Staggering amounts of evil. So much evil, I don’t think I can quite get my head around it. It’s true that other organizations and individuals abuse children, but the problem with religious organizations is that they are authoritarian. When the people who have power commit these abuses, the only people who know are trained to not speak out against the abusers.

However 24 alleged paedophiles were not jailed. In some instances, the case against them collapsed when victims and their families backed out of giving evidence in court following pressure from the religious community, according to the assistant DA.

As far as I’m concerned, this is the worst part of religion. It isn’t just that it’s wrong, but that it hurts, bullies and ostracizes people until those who remain are too frightened to speak up in their own defense or defense of their families when evil happens.

Leave a Reply

