Why President Obama is misguided about Plan B

I can see where he’s coming from here. I disagree with his principles even here, but he’s missing the main point.

President Barack Obama said Thursday it was just common sense to keep girls under the age of 17 from being able to buy a morning-after contraceptive pill off a drugstore shelf. Citing his own two daughters, Obama said: “I think most parents would probably feel the same way.”

I encountered a lot of this in California, when they were trying to pass amendments to restrict abortion access to minors. I find the idea that parents ought to control their post-pubescent daughters’ sexuality creepy and repulsive, but I don’t think it’s the main issue:

Not all girls will be safe if they tell their parents they’ve been having sex.

The under-18 access to birth control is not there to give an out to privileged girls who don’t want to talk about these things with their parents. It is there to prevent at-risk girls from being beaten, kicked out of their houses or sent off to christian prison camps.

By focusing on what “most parents” would feel, Obama is forgetting about the most vulnerable teenagers. He’s treating his own daughters as if they were less than they are, but putting whole populations at further physical risk and he ought to be called out on it.

One thought on “Why President Obama is misguided about Plan B

  1. I agree. I usually agree with ‘most’ of what Obama does, however when I saw this I thought, its generally 17 and sadly younger that are most at risk of unwanted pregnancy. I remember when I was about 15 in my school, you just weren’t cool until you had sex. All my friends were doing it and I felt very pressured and looking back now, I think how lucky I am to have not gained an STD or a child… Its insane. Not to mention, today everything is about sex, I mean you see it on T.V, in ad’s, on commercials….literally everywhere! At least in my day, I knew it wasn’t okay for me to be doing such things and I did have to hide it, while this is true in some households, I know of others who are open about their kids having sex, and I can see both sides. The households that are open, are probably better off as sick as it almost seems to me, but in all honesty, their children are more apt to confess, or just be open about their encounters, meaning the parents have a true grasp on what is really going on. While the households like mine where its not spoken of, my parents didn’t have a CLUE what I was up to. So its those, that are at risk in my eyes anyways, perhaps I am wrong.

Leave a Reply

